Best of the Beach at Thunder Beach Raises $1000 For Shriners

Saturday May 1st dawned overcast and windy in Panama City Beach as Mother Nature revved up her engine in the gulf kicking the surf and blowing through with a thunderstorm the day before.  Custom bike builders are a skittish lot and many waited until the very last moment to see how the day was going to play out before entering their bike in the Best of the Beach bike show.

By 10:3o the forecast for overcast/ partly cloudy skies was 50% true as the overcast remained, and partly cloudy was still a distant goal.  By now the streets in PCB were clogging up with traffic and Back Beach Rd was inching along at 5 mph.  A slight wreck threw another wrench in the gears and what was a slow go, turned into a ground stop and with so many pre-registered show entries still not checked in, the decision was made to extend the registration time for 45 minutes.

At 1 o'clock, all but 2 pre-paid entries had arrived in Pier Park and the show began.

Ron Galletti and his wife Debbie, creators of Born To Ride TV were on hand as well as Jay Barbieri of the Discovery Channel Two Wheel Thunder.  Both shows were taping segments for upcoming episodes.

Even after entry cut-off was announced, several late entries arrived and unfortunately had to be turned away.

The International Master Bike Builders Association (IMBBA) provided the judges and head judge, Freddie Arnold said, "The competition in every class is top notch.  This has definitely become THE show to compete in during Thunder Beach."

Steel Horse Law sponsored the Best of Show with $1,000 cash prize with Kuryakyn, Wimmer Machine, RC Components, Custom Dynamics, HHI, Renegade Wheels, Jireh, R & R Trikes, Two Brothers Tires and Stripper Juice sponsoring other classes or providing free products to every entrant.

Winners were

American Mild

1st Bob Baxter, Piperton TN

2nd Keith Crawford Sara FL

3rd Mark Tison  Rome GA

American Wild

1st.  Christina Ratster  - Holiday FL

2nd Larry Johnson  - Mt. Airy NC

3rd Kevin Rackley – Powder Springs GA

Kuryakyn American Wild

1st.  Christina Ratster  - Holiday FL

2nd Larry Johnson  - Mt. Airy NC

3rd Kevin Rackley – Powder Springs GA

Metric Mild

1st Jessica West – Chattanooga TN

2nd Terry Aldredge – Camilla GA

RC Components Metric Wild

1st Will Robertson – Pinellas Park FL

2nd Steve Galvin – St. Petersburg FL

Bagger Mild

1st Bob Smith – College Grove TN

2nd Joe Barlow – Warner Robins GA

3rd Tod “Weirdo” Wooldridge – Riceville TN

Custom Dynamics Bagger Wild

1st Matt Chapman – Acworth GA

2nd Bridget Parrot – Ellijay GA

HHI Hawg Halters Full Custom / Radical

1st Steve Galvin – St. Petersburg FL

2nd Floyd Justice / Jim Argo – Rincon GA

3rd Ed Tooley Ratster – Palm Harbor FL

Wimmer Machine Manufactured Custom

1st Bill Jefferies- Crestview FL

2nd Adam Goforth – Candler NC

3rd Pam Miller – Clermont FL

Renegade Wheels - Bobber

1st Ronald D. Foxworth Columbus GA

2nd Richard Chastain – Woodstock GA

R & R Trikes – Trikes Wild

1st Ronald Castner – Pensacola FL

2nd Jimmie Gribble – McMinnville TN

R & R Trikes Wild

1st Cynthia Gribble – McMinnville TN

Antique Stock

1st Randy Mullins – Panama City Beach FL

2nd Tony Fish – Bonifay FL

Antique Modified / Custom

1st Tim Sewell – Vienna GA

2nd Jerry Mullins – Pinellas Park FL

3rd Dennis Korenak – Panama City Beach FL

Sportbike Mild

1st Kyle Robbins – Mobile AL

RC Component’s Sportbike Wild

1st John Linton – Hermitage TN

Stripper Juice/Smitty’s Engraving Choice - Dan Parker – Salem AL

Shriner’s Charity Choice – Bob Smith – College Grove  TN

Best Rat Bike - Hal Everett – Chattanooga TN

Jireh’s People’s Choice  - Tod “Weirdo” Wooldridge – Riceville TN

Editor’s Choice / Two Brother’s Tires - Ronald Foxworth – Columbus GA

Steel Horse Law Firm’s BEST OF SHOW- Steve Galvin St. Petersburg FL

The next Best of the Beach Bike show will be held at Pier Park,  October 2nd, 2010 during the Fall Thunder Beach Rally.  For more info call 478-237-3761

Web Staff


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *